Filthy Sweet Fries

I’m stupidly close with my best friend, but as we’ve gotten older and she is down a motorway rather than a hallway we see each other less. It is why it is fun to make the times we do see each other more of occasion. My favourite way is food.
I felt like being filthy today and decided I needed something deliciously decadent to celebrate my recent exam successes. That means one thing to me; Mexican. I love the flavour combinations of spice with smooth guacamole and cooling sour cream. Plus there is nothing more satisfying than the sight of melted cheese being stretched and pulled as you tuck in to your dinner 

So a fair few ingredients are needed, but then that depends on whether you want to make your own cheese sauce and be extra greedy like me and add a fried egg. 

But really this is pretty easy. Peel and slice your sweet potato into chips, guzzle over some olive oil and throw in the fajita seasoning. Bung those in the oven till crispy. Chop and fry some chorizo in the fajita seasoning along with the sweetcorn. Chop up the onion and coriander for later. 

The colours in Mexican food get me so excited. I need a life. 

Cheese sauce is simple, combining milk, butter, cream cheese, wholegrain mustard and a variety of grated cheeses over a medium heat. Add the onion and garlic powder and smokify the sauce with some chipotle chilli flakes. 

Then for the fun part, in a loaf tin add some fries, top with the chorizo and sweetcorn, a ladle of the cheese sauce, sprinkle with the onion and then repeat until the loaf tin is full. Top with even more cheese (we live only once) and stick that in the oven for about twenty minutes. Just before I pulled it out, I fried my egg and placed this on top with the coriander. Serve with the usual suspects: salsa, guacamole, and sour cream. 

Oh my life. You need to try this at home. 

Leave a Reply

